Murder With Southern Hospitality:
An Exhibition of Mississippi Mysteries

Exhibit Home » Female Detectives » Carolyn Haines

Female Detectives

Carolyn Haines

Born in Hattiesburg, Mississippi, on May 12, 1953, Carolyn Haines graduated from high school in George County. She received a B.S. from the University of Southern Mississippi in Journalism and a M.A. in English with an emphasis in Creative Writing in 1985 from the University of Southern Alabama. Carolyn Haines’ first published novel, Summer of Fear , appeared in 1993 with Summer of the Redeemers following in 1994. Her popular detective series featuring the feisty Southern belle detective Sarah Booth began in 1999 with the publication of Them Bones followed by Buried Bones, Splintered Bones, and Crossed Bones.

The quality of Haines’ work in relation to the South and its’ lands is evident through her Bones series. When asked about this connection the author replied:

“You can take my characters out of the South--but no, you really can’t. Growing up in Mississippi has shaped my character, and it constantly shapes the character of my characters. I think ‘place’ is one of the strongest elements in fiction. It grounds the reader and gives characters a source. I may have had the last golden childhood, growing up in Lucedale, Mississippi. We played without fear, and we were surrounded by country and woods. It was a paradise. I grew to love the outdoors, the plants, the animals, and the people of my world. I was fortunate in that I met quite a few characters during my journalism days, which has helped me create my fictitious world. I have been truly blessed to live in a place which hasn’t yet been homogenized to look and sound just like everywhere else. Mississippi is a writer’s dream.”

Accessibility     xhtml   |   css   |   508   |   aaa